20 Words of Wisdom

15 Jun

Perhaps this is not the proper way to start a blog. I should admit now that this is my first blog and I am new to blogging. So bear with me as I learn.

I thought this would be a good launching point. This is a list of words of wisdom which I have learned during the course of my life. Perhaps I should not lay them out like this because it is very possible that I might contradict myself in the future. However, I thought this would be a good way for you all to get to know me a little better by knowing the words I live by. I hope you enjoy and please comment with words that you yourself live by!

1. Try to remove the words ‘can’t’ and ‘impossible’ from your vocabulary, you’ll be surprised how much more you achieve

2. Never lose your childlike amazement of the world, even though you might be grown up the world is still as marvelous.

3. Dare to be silly, learn to laugh at yourself, it will help you add years to your life which stress has taken off

4. Do what you love; life is too short to waste your time doing something you dislike.

5. Always make a point of putting God first in your life, even if you think something else needs more of your attention. You’ll be surprised how everything else will fall into place.

6. Good girlfriends are rare. When you find one that you can laugh with, that is unwilling to deal with drama, that is brutally honest with you, that will stand by your side and support you and that is always pushing you to be better never let her go, a girlfriend like that is indispensable. All others are worthy of dispensing.

7. Make a point of helping others. Spread love, generosity, hope, compassion. When you help others you will find your needs in turn will be met.

8. When you have the choice of being pessimistic or optimistic always choose the latter. It might be more difficult but it is always worthwhile.

9. Always be active verse apathetic. Take action.

10. Never let anyone bring you down or try to lessen your self-worth, no one is worth it. You are priceless never let anyone tell you otherwise.

11. Do not underestimate yourself. Remember that you are unique, special, and priceless. But also stay humble.

12. If you fall, pick yourself up, dust yourself off and try again.

13. Dream big, set large goals. You will be surprised what you can achieve.

14. Never settle. Always look for the next step, set new goals for yourself and try to improve.

15. Always be determined and persevere.

16. Don’t ask yourself ‘why is this happening to me?’ instead ask yourself ‘how can I change this and make it better?’

17. If your lifestyle permits get a pet, preferably a dog. I can only begin to tell you the infinite joy my dog gives me, truly man’s (and woman’s!) best friend.

18. Be original. Do not conform. I think Judy Garland said it perfectly: “Always be a first-rate version of yourself, instead of a second-rate version of somebody else.”

19. People frequently say to live life with no regrets. But I find that is impracticable. I prefer to learn from my regrets so I never have to regret the same thing twice.

20. Travel. It has been when I am traveling that I have had the most worthwhile, exciting, educational, spiritual experiences.

Leave a Reply

